Jurisdictional History of the Committee on Science and Technology

Introduction:

On October 4, 1957, the Soviet Union launched *Sputnik*, which created a feeling of vulnerability and a sense that America was no longer the world's leader in science. In response, the U.S. Houses of Representatives created a select, bipartisan committee. This select committee was established on March 5, 1958, and the House created a new permanent committee on astronautics and space exploration on July 21, 1958. In order to perform its duties, the House invested the Committee on Science and Astronautics with certain areas of jurisdiction. Like all institutions, the Committee has evolved during the past 50 years and so has its jurisdiction and oversight responsibilities.

Committee on Science and Astronautics

85th (1957-1959) — 92nd Congress (1971-1973)

(From the inception of the Select Committee on March 5, 1958, and through the end of the 92nd Congress, the Committee had jurisdiction in the following areas.)

- a) Astronautical research and development, including resources, personnel, equipment, and facilities.
- b) Bureau of Standards, standardization of weights and measures and the metric system.
- c) National Aeronautics and Space Administration.
- d) National Aeronautics and Space Council.
- e) National Science Foundation.
- f) Outer space, including exploration and control thereof.
- g) Science Scholarship.
- h) Science research and development.

Committee on Science and Technology

93rd Congress (1973-1975)

(The House renamed the committee on January 3, 1975, and gave it jurisdiction over several new areas. In addition, the committee was provided general and specific oversight duties listed in clause 2 (b) and 3 (f) of Rule X.) See citation after the 110^{th} Congress.

- 1) Astronautical research and development including resources, personnel, equipment, and facilities.
- 2) Bureau of Standards, standardization of weights and measures and the metric system.
- 3) National Aeronautics and Space Administration.
- 4) National Aeronautics and Space Council.
- 5) National Science Foundation.
- 6) Outer space, including exploration and control thereof.
 - 57

- Science Scholarships. 7)
- Scientific research and development. 8) New Jurisdictions
- 9) Civil aviation research and development.
- 10) Environmental research and development.
- 11) All energy research and development
- except nuclear research and development. 12) National Weather Service.

94th (1975-1977) — 95th Congress (1977-1979)

(On January 4, 1977, the House gave the committee jurisdiction over nuclear R&D, which had belonged to the House Joint Committee on Atomic Energy [H. Res. 5.]. Jurisdictional area 11 was revised to reflect the committee's new duties.)

11) All energy research and development.

All other jurisdictional areas remained the same as the 93rd. 96th Congress (1979-1981)

(The Committee was granted additional concurrent jurisdiction on September 24, 1978, in conjunction with the Armed Services and Interior and Insular Affairs committees concerning the development of oil shale technologies.)

All other jurisdictional areas remained the same as the 95th. 97th (1981-1983) – 99th Congress (1985-1987)

(The House extended the jurisdiction of the committee on March 25, 1980, to become effective on January 3, 1981, to include new duties in the field of energy. To reflect the new duties, jurisdictional areas 8 and 11 were reworded.)

- 8) Scientific research, development, and demonstration, and projects therefor, and all federally owned or operated nonmilitary energy laboratories.
- 11) All energy research, development, and demonstration, and projects therefor, and all federally owned or operated nonmilitary energy laboratories.
- All other jurisdictional areas remained the same as the 95th.

Committee on Science, Space and Technology

100th Congress (1987-1989)

(January 6, 1987, the House renamed the committee under H.R. 5.) All jurisdictional areas remained the same as in the 99th

101st (1989-1991) — 102nd Congress (1991-1993)

(Jurisdictional area 8 was reworded and the phrase, "and all federally owned or operated nonmilitary energy laboratories." was deleted. Also, the committee acquired concurrent jurisdiction, shared by four other committees and EPA, regarding federal research into the contamination of ground water.)

All other jurisdictional areas remained the same as the 99th.

58

103rd Congress (1993-1995)

(Due to a change in the name of agencies in the executive branch, jurisdictional areas 2 and 4 were reworded.)

- National Institute of Standards and Technology, standardization of weights and measures and the metric system.
- 4) National Space Council.
- All other jurisdictional areas remained the same as the 99th.

Committee on Science

104th (1995-1997) — 105th Congress (1997-1999)

(On January 4, 1995, the House renamed the committee and expanded its jurisdiction to include areas that once belonged to the Merchant Marine and Fisheries, and Energy and Commerce committees. All of the jurisdictional areas were reorganized along with the expanded duties as set forth in areas 5 and 6.)

- All energy research, development, and demonstration, and projects therefor, and all federally owned or operated nonmilitary energy laboratories.
- 2) Astronautical research and development, including resources, personnel, equipment, and facilities.
- 3) Civil aviation research and development.
- 4) Environmental research and development.
- 5) Marine research.
- 6) Measures relating to the commercial application of energy technology.
- National Institute of Standards and Technology, standardization of weights and measures and the metric system.
- 8) National Aeronautics and Space Administration.
- 9) National Space Council.
- 10) National Science Foundation.
- 11) National Weather Service.
- 12) Outer space, including exploration and control thereof.
- 13) Science Scholarships.
- 14) Scientific research, development, and demonstration, and projects therefor.

106th (1999-2001) — 109th Congress (2005-2007)

(Due to clerical and stylistic adjustments passed by the House on January 9, 1999, jurisdictional area 6 was reworded during the 106^{th} Congress.)

6) Commercial application of energy technology. All other jurisdictional areas remained the same as the 105th.

59

Committee on Science and Technology

110th Congress (2007-2009)

(January 4, 2007, the House renamed the committee under H.R. 6.) All jurisdictional areas remained the same as in the 105th.

Special Oversight Functions of the Committee on Science and Technology, 93rd-110th Congresses as cited in the Rules of the House of Representatives for the 110th Congress:

"3.(k) The Committee on Science and Technology shall review and study on a continuing basis, laws, programs, and Government activities relating to non-military research and development.

60